Top 10 most endangered animal species in Africa – Part Two

The following listing is based upon IUCN’s Red List of Threatened Species!

6. Black Rhinoceros

Scientific Name: Diceros bicornis.

Status: Critically Endangered.

Threats: Mainly poaching for its horn and “medicinal” value (China).

Population: Has declined by over 90% over the last 60 odd years. Current estimation is at roughly 4180 black rhinos.

Countries: Kenya; Namibia; South Africa; Tanzania; Zimbabwe.

Although the rhinoceros is referred to as ‘black’, its colours vary from brown to grey.

7. Cheetah

Scientific Name: Acinonyx jubatus.

Status: Vulnerable.

Threats: Habitat loss, fragmentation and human conflict (mainly farmers).

Population: 10 000-15 000. Cheetahs are believed to have lost over 76% of their historic range on the continent.

Countries: Algeria; Angola; Benin; Botswana; Burkina Faso; Central African Republic; Chad; The Democratic Republic of the Congo; Ethiopia; Islamic Republic of Iran; Kenya; Mozambique; Namibia; Niger; Somalia; South Africa; Sudan; United Republic of Tanzania; Togo; Uganda; Zambia; Zimbabwe.

8. African Lion

Scientific Name: Panthera leo.

Status: Vulnerable.

Threats: Poisoning to protect local livestock (Refer to Furadan), prey base depletion, habitat loss and trophy hunting.

Population: Best estimate is 20 000-23 000. Such a pity, especially when you consider their number 50 years ago (450 000 lions; a loss of +/- 95%). 🙁

Countries: Most of sub-Saharan Africa.

9. African Penguin (Jackass Penguin)

Scientific Name: Spheniscus demersus.

Status: Vulnerable.

Threats: Commercial fisheries and oil spills.

Population: 72 000 birds.

Countries: Angola; Mozambique; Namibia; South Africa.

10. African Elephant

Scientific Name: Loxodonta africana.

Status: Vulnerable.

Threats: Poaching for ivory and meat + loss of habitat.

Population: 470 000-690 000.

Countries: Angola; Benin; Botswana; Burkina Faso; Cameroon; Central African Republic; Chad; Congo; Congo; Côte d’Ivoire; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Ethiopia; Gabon; Ghana; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Kenya; Liberia; Malawi; Mali; Mozambique; Namibia; Niger; Nigeria; Rwanda; Senegal; Sierra Leone; Somalia; South Africa; Sudan; Tanzania; Togo; Uganda; Zambia; Zimbabwe.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply